How to delete Spotify account and cancel its subscription

How to Delete Your Spotify Account and Cancel Its Subscription

3 Mins Read

Privacy & SecurityHow to Delete Your Spotify Account and Cancel Its Subscription

If you wish to delete your Spotify account and severe ties with the popular music hub for good, you need to keep in mind some dos and don’ts before you go about it.

Spotify brings a massive pool of favorite music album to its millions of users globally. But as more and more rivals are conjuring up, with big names like Apple Music, Tidal, and Amazon, there’s been a massive dip in the Spotify’s popularity and user pool.

If you haven’t used the Spotify app for like ages and wish to cancel your subscription to save money, you first need to cancel your subscription. However, you should also note that after deleting the account, you may lose access to your favorite list of songs in the local folder of your device.

Do you still wish to proceed? If so, then let’s move on to the guide on how to delete your Spotify account without further ado.

Here’s What You Need to Know Before You Delete Spotify Account

Deleting your Spotify account means that you will permanently lose access to all your locally stored albums and playlist. Since you won’t be owning the subscription anymore, you can’t use any music from Spotify library any further.

Similarly, you will also lose your Spotify username as well. Duh! If you have used any Student Discount coupon on that username, you won’t be able to reuse it until a year is passed.

If you are reluctant to delete your Spotify account yet you don’t wish to continue paying for the premium subscription, you can always switch to Spotify free plan. You will still be able to listen to over 40 hours of music from 750 on-demand tracks, customized as per your interest and listening habit.

If you wish to stick to Spotify and downgrade to its free plan, you only need to cancel your Spotify subscription instead of deleting your account.

How to Cancel Your Spotify Premium Subscription

Downgrading from premium subscription to a free tier doesn’t mean you will lose access to all your favorites. You can still access and listens to your favorites from the Listening History on Spotify.

If you are paying for your subscription through Spotify, you can cancel your subscription through its website. Here’s how you can do that:

  1. Open Spotify website on your browser and log in
  2. Go to the Menu and click Account Overview
  3. Now, click Change Plan to proceed
  4. Click Cancel Premium
  5. Click Yes, Cancel for confirmation

Once you cancel your subscription, you will be redirected to the cancellation page where you can see the last date of cancellation. Until the cancellation date, you will have access to all the premium privileges.

Oops! I Can’t Cancel My Spotify Subscription

Following the aforementioned list of cancellation steps can do the trick. However, if you are still unable to cancel your Spotify premium subscription via its website, it means that you are paying through third-party services like Google Pay or Apple iTunes.

Therefore, before you proceed to subscription cancellation, identify which payment gateway you are using and then proceed accordingly.

How to Cancel Spotify Subscription on Apple iTunes

  1. Go to the Settings menu on your iPhone
  2. Tap iTunes and App Store
  3. Tap Apple ID
  4. Now, tap View Apple ID
  5. Go to Subscription
  6. Scroll and see if you could find Spotify Subscription
  7. Toggle off auto-renewal of your Spotify subscription

In case you are still unable to cancel, the chances are that you may be logged in to Spotify from any other account. It is best to check if that’s the case so that you can log out and try again from one account.

How Do I Delete My Spotify Account Permanently?

Deleting your Spotify account means losing not just your playlist and access to any other features but also your username. You cannot recreate your account using the same username twice. But if you have finally made up your mind that you don’t wish to stick to the platform anymore and severe ties completely, proceed to the following steps:

  1. Go to the Cancellation page on Spotify’s website
  2. Click Account
  3. Now, go to I Want to Close My Account
  4. Click Contact to Close

Once you do that, you will be prompted to start a Chat with Spotify’s representative. Fill out the required fields and start the chat. Share your concerns or reasons for closing the account. The representative will forward you a link from where you can permanently close your account.

What If I Want to Reactive My Spotify Account?

You don’t need to worry if you have changed your mind and wished to reactivate your account. You can always reactivate it as long as the account is not deleted. Spotify gives you three months to reconsider your actions and reactivate it. So, if you have recently cancelled your subscription and it hasn’t been three months, you can reactivate it. But if you have opted out of the platform for good, then there’s no way you can recover your playlist let alone your account.

Mohsin Qadir An information security analyst in the making, a father of an adorable kid and a technology writer (Contributor). He can be found lurking around top network security blogs, looking for scoops on information security and privacy trends.

Have Your Say!!

Join 3 million+ users to embrace internet freedom

Signup for PureVPN to get complete online security and privacy with a hidden IP address and encrypted internet traffic.