How to Watch Boston Marathon Live Stream in Canada  

How to Watch 2024 Boston Marathon Live Stream in Canada  

5 Mins Read

PUREVPNHow to Watch 2024 Boston Marathon Live Stream in Canada  

Get ready to lace up your running shoes and watch 2024 Boston Marathon live online in Canada. As one of the esteemed World Marathon Majors, this iconic event is set to showcase elite athletes alongside a diverse field of participants. With 30,000 runners gearing up to conquer the challenging 26.2-mile course on Patriots’ Day in the United States, the excitement is palpable.

ESPN+ stands as the premier destination for streaming the 2024 Boston Marathon live online in Canada. However, due to its exclusive broadcasting rights being limited to the US, international viewers will require a top-tier VPN service to circumvent geographic restrictions and enjoy the action-packed marathon from any location. Read on to learn more:

Step-by-Step Guide: How to Watch 2024 Boston Marathon Live Stream in Canada

You can watch 2024 Boston Marathon live online on ESPN+. But, since ESPN+ is only available in the US, you must use PureVPN to get the US IP address and watch the greatest marathon live in Canada. 

Simply follow the steps below:

  1. Subscribe to PureVPN.
  2. Download the PureVPN app on any of your devices.
  3. Connect the server in the US.
  4. Open ESPN+.
  5. Enjoy watching the Boston Marathon live streaming in Canada.

Why Do You Need a VPN to Watch 2024 Boston Marathon Live Online in Canada?

This much-awaited marathon event is coming up on ESPN+. However, ESPN has regional restrictions due to licensing agreements, meaning its content is only available within certain regions. To bypass this, you’ll need to make it seem like you’re accessing ESPN+ from the US. PureVPN is the solution here, as it provides you with an American IP address, making your internet traffic look like it’s originating from the US. This tricks ESPN’s servers into thinking you’re a local user, granting you access to its content library. With PureVPN, you can watch 2024 Boston Marathon live online in Canada without facing any restrictions.

When and Where is the Boston Marathon Taking Place?

  • Date: April 15th, 2024
  • Start: Hopkinton, MA
  • Finish: Boylston Street in Boston
  • Where to watch: ESPN, 
  • Distance: 26.2-mile

Where to Watch 2024 Boston Marathon Live Stream in Canada

You can watch the 2024 Boston Marathon live online on ESPN+ and Eurosport using PureVPN.

Watch Boston Marathon on ESPN+

ESPN2 will air the Boston Marathon on April 15 with live coverage starting at 8:30 a.m. ET and concluding at 12:30 p.m. ET. The event will also be streamed concurrently on ESPN+ through the pay-television network’s online service for a subscription fee of $10.99 per month.

If you wish to watch the event from another location, you can utilize PureVPN to bypass regional restrictions and stream the 2024 Boston Marathon live online in Canada.

Watch Boston Marathon on Eurosport

Eurosport will show live coverage of the 2024 Boston Marathon in Canada. The live streaming of Eurosport is available via Discovery+. The coverage of the marathon kicks off at 11 am UK time.

Since Discovery+ is exclusively available in Canada, non-UK users will need to use a premium VPN like PureVPN to bypass all regional barriers and watch 2024 Boston Marathon live online in Canada.

2024 Boston Marathon Broadcasters List

BroadcasterCountries
ESPN+United States (National)
FloSportsAustralia
TSN/RDSCanada
SMGChina
ESPN BrazilBrazil
ESPN LATAM/SurVarious Countries in America
EurosportEurope, United Kingdom
AstroMalaysia, Brunei
VTVCabVietnam
SupersportVarious Countries in Africa

2024 Boston Marathon Start Times

EventTime (ET / BST / AEST)
Military March6:00 am ET / 11:00 am BST / 8:00 pm AEST
Men’s Wheelchair9:02 am ET / 2:02 pm BST / 11:02 pm AEST
Women’s Wheelchair9:05 am ET / 2:05 pm BST / 11:05 pm AEST
Handcycles & Duos9:30 am ET / 2:30 pm BST / 11:30 pm AEST
Professional Men9:37 am ET / 2:37 pm BST / 11:37 pm AEST
Professional Women9:45 am ET / 2:45 pm BST / 11:45 pm AEST
Para Athletics Divisions9:50 am ET / 2:50 pm BST / 11:50 pm AEST
Rolling Start Wave 110:00 am ET / 3:00 pm BST / 12:00 am AEST
Rolling Start Wave 210:25 am ET / 3:25 pm BST / 12:25 am AEST
Rolling Start Wave 310:50 am ET / 3:50 pm BST / 12:50 am AEST
Rolling Start Wave 411:15 am ET / 4:15 pm BST / 1:15 am AEST

Boston Marathon Route

The Boston Marathon begins in Hopkinton, Massachusetts, and guides runners through a scenic yet challenging 26.2-mile course, culminating in Copley Square in Boston. The route features a net-downhill profile, descending 459 feet from start to finish. While many fear the ascent up Heartbreak Hill at Mile 21, the course’s most formidable challenge might be encountered within the initial 4 miles—a 350-foot downhill stretch that often leads to a quicker-than-anticipated start. Without pacing or sufficient training on downhill terrain, runners risk early fatigue, likened to the heaviness of Boston clam chowder in their legs even before reaching the notorious Newton hills.

Between Mile 16 and 21, the four Newton Hills present a significant obstacle, particularly Heartbreak Hill, known for its height and length. However, overlooking the steep downhill mile from Heartbreak’s peak can also prove costly, as it can leave runners’ legs feeling numb and make the final four miles to the finish line exceedingly grueling.

Boston Marathon 2024 Elite Men’s Field

The elite lineup for the 2024 Boston Marathon men’s race is headlined by Evans Chebet of KEN, the reigning champion for the past two years.

  • Evans Chebet (KEN) – Personal Best: 2:03:00.
  • Sisay Lemma (ETH) – Personal Best: 2:01:48.
  • Gabriel Geay (TAN) – Personal Best 2:03:00, 
  • Cyprian Kotut (KEN) – Personal Best 2:04:34.
  • John Korir (KEN) – Personal Best 2:05:01.
  • Haftu Teklu (ETH) – Personal Best: 2:04:43.
  • Shura Kitata (ETH) – Personal Best: 2:04:49.
  • Mohamed Esa (ETH) – Personal Best: 2:05:05.
  • Suguru Osako (JAP) – Personal Best: 2:05:29.
  • Sondre Moen (NOR) – Personal Best: 2:05:48.
  • Sam Chelanga (USA) – Personal Best: 2:08:50.
  • Elkanah Kibet (USA) – Personal Best: 2:09:07.

Boston Marathon 2024 Elite Women’s Field

The elite women’s lineup for the 2024 Boston Marathon women’s race is headlined by Tadu Teshome of ETH:

  • Tadu Teshome (ETH) – Personal Best: 2:17:36 
  • Hiwot Gebremaryam (ETH) – Personal Best: 2:17:59 
  • Judith Korir (KEN) – Personal Best: 2:18:20 
  • Meseret Belete (ETH) – Personal Best: 2:18:21 
  • Tiruye Mesfin (ETH) – Personal Best: 2:18:47
  • Workenesh Edesa (ETH) – Personal Best: 2:18:51 
  • Senbere Teferi (ETH) – Personal Best: 2:19:21 
  • Dera Dida (ETH) – Personal Best: 2:19:24 
  • Edna Kiplagat (KEN) – Personal Best: 2:19:50 
  • Mary Ngugi-Cooper (KEN) – Personal Best: 2:20:22 
  • Sara Hall (USA) – Personal Best: 2:20:32 
  • Ababel Yeshaneh (ETH) – Personal Best: 2:20:51 

What is the Prize Money for the 2024 Boston Marathon

This year, the Boston Marathon boasts a prize pool of $1.1 million. Among this, $806,000 will be shared among the top 10 finishers in both the men’s and women’s categories. Winners of the race will each receive $150,000, while champions of the men’s and women’s wheelchair divisions will take home $40,000. Notably, the Boston Marathon marks the first Abbott World Marathon Major event to provide equal $50,000 course record bonuses for both open and wheelchair divisions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Do You Need a VPN to Watch 2024 Boston Marathon Live Online in Canada?

To watch the 2024 Boston Marathon live online in Canada in Canada, you need a VPN because ESPN+ has regional restrictions. By using PureVPN to obtain a US IP address, you can bypass these restrictions and access the live stream in Canada.

When and Where is the Boston Marathon Taking Place?

The 2024 Boston Marathon starts in Hopkinton, MA, and finishes on Boylston Street in Boston. It will be aired on ESPN2 with live coverage from 8:30 a.m. ET to 12:30 p.m. ET. International viewers can use PureVPN to stream the event online.

Where Can I Watch 2024 Boston Marathon Live Stream in Canada?

You can watch the 2024 Boston Marathon live online on ESPN+ and Eurosport using PureVPN. ESPN+ offers live coverage from 8:30 a.m. ET to 12:30 p.m. ET, while Eurosport’s coverage starts at 11 am UK time.

What is the Prize Money for the 2024 Boston Marathon?

The 2024 Boston Marathon features a $1.1 million prize pool, with $806,000 allocated to the top 10 finishers in both the men’s and women’s categories. 

Can I use a free VPN to watch 2024 Boston Marathon?

Using a free VPN to watch the Boston Marathon may not be effective. Free VPN services do not support streaming, have limited server locations, and follow inadequate security measures. Therefore, it is best to use a reliable premium VPN service like PureVPN to ensure smooth, secure, and unrestricted access to ESPN+ to watch 2024 Boston Marathon live online in Canada.

author

Farrukh Mushtaq

date

April 12, 2024

time

3 months ago

Farrukh Mushtaq is a digital marketer currently working at PureVPN. He has a keen interest in sports and cybersecurity and loves writing about both topics, with several years of experience in the digital marketing industry.

Have Your Say!!

Join 3 million+ users to embrace internet freedom

Signup for PureVPN to get complete online security and privacy with a hidden IP address and encrypted internet traffic.