Now introducing 7-Day premium trial to work, binge, & stay secure online

How to Cancel Your Dropbox Subscription/Trial



Dropbox is a cloud storage online platform that has millions of users. While it’s pretty great, there are issues with security that may warrant your desire to remove your account and go with another secure cloud-based storage provider. In 2012, data was stolen from Dropbox that contained encrypted passwords and details of around two-thirds of its customers.

Data breaches are common in the cyber world, and in 2016, Dropbox reported that over 68 million of its users’ email addresses and passwords were exposed on the web. For whatever reason, if you may want to cancel your Dropbox subscription/trial, here’s the process:

how to cancel dropbox

How to Cancel a Dropbox Subscription or Trial

On iPhone or iPad

If you subscribed to Dropbox from your iPhone, iPad, or any other OS device, you can cancel your Dropbox subscription or free trial by following these steps:

  1. On your iOS device, tap Settings
  2. Tap your name at the top
  3. Tap Subscriptions
  4. Tap Dropbox
  5. Tap Cancel Subscription or Cancel Trial
  6. Tap Confirm
  7. Your account will downgrade to Dropbox Basic (free) at the end of your billing cycle

On Android

If you purchased Dropbox from an Android device, you can cancel a Dropbox subscription or free trial by following these steps:

  1. Open the Google Play Store on an Android device
  2. Tap the three-dotted lines in the upper left corner
  3. Sign in to your Google account (from which you made the purchase) if you haven’t signed in already
  4. Tap Subscriptions
  5. Tap Dropbox
  6. Tap Cancel subscription
  7. Select a reason why you’re canceling and tap Continue
  8. Tap Cancel Subscription or Cancel Trial
  9. You’ll immediately receive an email to your Google account to confirm your cancellation. Your account will downgrade to Dropbox Basic (free) at the end of your billing cycle.

On WIndows

  1. Type dropbox.com in the URL section of your browser and sign in to your Dropbox account.
  2. Once you’ve successfully logged in, click your avatar in the top right-hand corner or an image that you’ve set for your Dropbox account.
  3. A dropdown menu will appear where you have to click Settings. This will take you to your Personal account settings.
  4. Under the General tab, scroll down to the bottom of the page where you’ll see the Delete my Dropbox section. Click Delete account.
  5. If you have a paid Dropbox Pro account, select Cancel plan under the Plan tab. By doing so, your account will be downgraded to a general account.
  6. Once you request for the deletion of your Dropbox account, you’ll be asked to enter your password to ensure it is indeed you who is requesting the account's deletion. You will also be asked for a reason for deleting the account.
  7. The final step is to click Permanently Delete.

Note: Once you’ve successfully deleted your account, you can no longer retrieve your deleted files. Dropbox prompts this message at least twice during the deletion process so that you know there’s no coming back. Make sure to make a backup of your data before you delete your Dropbox account.

Don't know how to uninstall Dropbox? Don't worry head over to this guide and get rid of the app.

Securely Backup Your Online Data

Data is everywhere around us. While some of it is public, a majority part of it is kept private for obvious reasons. Your everyday moments and your private pictures should be maintained with ultimate online privacy and security.

As data breaches and cyberattacks become increasingly common, there’s a need for backing up your data in case your account is hacked. Data that’s securely backed up on the cloud is much better than having cybercriminals hack your devices and get a hold of your private data.

What's Next:When backing up your confidential data online, make sure your internet connection is secured with encryption so that no one can eavesdrop on your data. Connect with PureVPN and securely backup your data to the cloud. PureVPN encrypts your internet connection with state-of-the-art AES 256-bit encryption, keeping you secure at all times.

Start 7 days trial now Because your Privacy Matters