Now introducing 7-Day premium trial to work, binge, & stay secure online

How to Permanently Delete your Twitter Account

While many choose Twitter over other social networks, many don’t consider it to be privacy-friendly at all.

On Twitter, your posts are virtually available to everyone. Anyone can search and view your posts even without logging into their Twitter accounts.

If you are interested in enhancing your internet privacy and want to have some peace of mind by permanently saying goodbye to Twitter, this guide is for you.

Note that once you’ve deleted your Twitter account, there’s no way that you can retrieve it. So, think twice before you proceed.

Incase you also need to take extra privacy measures over social networking accounts and want your digital footprints to be secured, don't worry PureVPN is here for you.

Get your hands on PureVPN in $0.99 and taste the feeling of privacy and anonymity for 7 days.

Start your 7-Day trial

Because Your Privacy Matters

img

How to deactivate your Twitter Account Permanently

Step 1: Visit https://www.twitter.com/ and log in using your username and password.

img

Step 2: In the top-right corner of your browser, click your profile picture and then head to Settings

img

Step 3: After scrolling to the bottom of the page, click “Deactivate my account.”

img

Step 4: Read all of the information on this page and click “Deactivate .”

img

Step 5: To confirm the deletion, enter your Twitter password and click “Deactivate account.”

img

Done! You’ve now deleted your Twitter account for good!


How to Deactivate twitter account on Android

Regardless of which Android device you use, the steps for deactivating Twitter account remains same. Here’s how you can deactivate it:

  1. Click the profile icon or the menu
  2. Go to Settings and Privacy
  3. Click Account
  4. Now, click Deactivate your account
  5. Click Deactivate
  6. Enter your password
  7. Click yes to proceed with deactivation

How to Deactivate twitter account on iOS

If you wish to deactivate your Twitter account on your iPad or iPhone, follow these steps:

  1. Tap Profile icon and go to Settings and Privacy
  2. Tap Deactivate your account
  3. Enter your password and tap Deactivate

Twitter is deactivated! But will this permanently delete my account?

No. Simple deactivation won’t delete your account permanently- not at least for 30 days.

Therefore, if you change your mind before 30 days, you can always save your Twitter account from permanent deletion.


Is Twitter Safe to Use?

Apparently, Twitter is safe for use. However, the social network compromises your privacy and security making you vulnerable to external threats by hackers and cybercriminals. For example, a hacker can learn a lot more about you by checking out your tweets on Twitter. They can use this information to harm you and hack into your accounts or devices.

Cyberstalkers also use this information to monitor your daily activities and gather enough information so they can blackmail you or harm you in any manner.

You can read more about Twitter and its privacy policy here.

How to Download Your Twitter Archive?

Deleting your Twitter account means losing all those precious tweets, information and memories you’ve been posting on Twitter. The good news is that you can download your Twitter archive easily before deleting your account. Here’s how you can do it:

  • Visit https://www.twitter.com and log in using your username and password. img
  • In the top-right corner of your browser window, click your profile picture and then head to Settings.
    img
  • After scrolling down the page, click “Request your archive.” img
  • Twitter will then notify you that it has received your request and will send you an email to inform you when your archive is ready for downloading. img
  • Follow the link in that email to download your Twitter archive. img

Is Twitter Collecting My Private Information?

Twitter is not privacy-friendly at all and is known for gathering a host of information about you. This information includes:

  • Your basic account information: your name, username, password, email address, and phone number.
  • Your contact information: if you upload or sync your phone address book with Twitter, it will keep a copy of your contacts on their servers. Also, if you send an email to Twitter’s team, the contents, as well as any contact information, can be retained by them for future use.
  • Your location: if you have a habit of tweeting from your phone, Twitter can access to your location information too.
  • Your payment information: apparently, if you share your payment information (credit card number, billing address, etc.) with Twitter for any purpose, this information will be stored by Twitter. However, you do have the option of removing these at any time.
  • Links and cookies: recent developments unveil that Twitter is eager to observe how you interact with links across their services and they can use cookies to learn about your preferences. Twitter can also monitor the device, OS, and web browser that you use to access their services.

Once your information is collected, Twitter may use it for advertising. The social network recently unveiled that your information will be utilized for advertising purposes. This means that your information collected by Twitter will be used to show you targeted ads.