How to Block Someone on Discord in 2020

Discord's minimalist design of the app is designed to make it easier for people to stream their gaming sessions to hundreds, sometimes thousands of viewers. Additionally, it can also act like an instant messenger and a forum.

Instances of harassment, threats, and stalking aren’t anything new on Discord. Your best bet against them is to block the users involved in such acts as promptly as possible.

Blocking Someone on Discord

Since Discord is aimed at gamers who may want to start streaming a game at a moment’s notice, Discord is available on all major devices and operating systems. The user-interface is more or less the same across the board. It means that the process of blocking someone is more or less uniform as well. Here’s how you’d do it:

Block Someone on Discord

How to Block Someone on Discord on Windows

  • Go to Discord.com or download its desktop app.
  • Go to your message with the user you want to block or search them up in the search bar.
  • Right-click on their username.
  • Click on Block, and a dropdown menu will appear.
  • Once a confirmation window pops up, click on Block again to complete the process.

How to Block Someone on Discord on Android

  • Open the Discord app.
  • Open your messages with the person you want to block.
  • Alternatively, search for their username.
  • Tap on their profile picture. Then click on the three-dots on the right side of the screen.
  • Click on Block.

How to Block Someone on Discord on iOS

  • Open the Discord app.
  • Go to your messages with the person you want to block.
  • You can also search for their username from the search bar.
  • Tap on their profile picture. Then click on the three-dots on the right side of the screen.
  • Click on Block.

How to Block Someone on Discord on Mac

  • Open discord.com or its desktop app.
  • Head over to your message with the user you want to block or search for their username in the search bar.
  • Right-click on the username.
  • Click on Block, and a dropdown menu will appear.
  • Once a confirmation window pops up, click on Block again, and that should do it.

Why Choose PureVPN When Using Discord

Like so many of Google’s offerings, Hangouts is an app that is designed to ensure smooth communication with contacts around the world. However, you may find the services unavailable across various countries owing to different laws prohibiting either certain Google apps or Google itself from operating in the country. Unless you have a reliable Hangout VPN, you’ll be effectively cut off from all your contacts for as long as you’re in that country.

PureVPN stands head & shoulders above the rest of the competition when it comes to privacy without compromising the quality of your experience. Thanks to its remarkable 2,000+ servers spread across 180+ locations, you’ll never have to worry about losing access to your contacts. PureVPN also offers 10 multi-logins. This allows you to use your single subscription on 10 different devices simultaneously. And perhaps most importantly, all of your incoming and outgoing traffic is encrypted via AES 256-bit encryption. This ensures maximum privacy for all your Internet activities.

FAQs(Frequently Asked Questions)

If you choose to “close” a DM on Discord, it removes the chat from your chat histories. The other user will still be able to read the chats. If the user ever messages you again, the entire chat thread will become visible again.

The purple dot next to a profile means that they’re currently streaming. Other dots represent other activities such as green meaning online, grey meaning offline, and a yellow crescent meaning idle.

Yes, Discord maintains a log of each conversation you have with other users on the service. This includes all the images you send & receive all the audio & video files you send & receive every external link you send & receive, and all the text messages you send & receive.