How to Block Someone on YouTube in 2020

YouTube is the personification of diverse content on the Internet. Regardless of who you are, what you’re looking for, there’s always hundreds and sometimes thousands of videos on each particular subject that may interest you on YouTube. However, one glance at an angry YouTube video comment section and those assumptions begin to seem a little off.

Thousands of troll accounts exist specifically to rile people up and take pleasure in their outbursts. The best thing to do when it comes to trolls like these is to block them as soon as possible. Please continue reading below to learn how to do it.

Blocking Someone on YouTube

You’ve probably searched for how to block someone on YouTube from replying to your comments or how to block someone on YouTube from watching your videos if you’ve had a run-in with those notorious YouTube troll accounts. It doesn’t matter if you’re using YouTube on your phone or PC, you can easily block any user on either. Here’s how you’d do it on each different platform

Block Someone on YouTube

How to Block Someone on YouTube on Windows

  • Go youtube.com and log in.
  • If you already know their account name, then search for it in the search bar or click on their profile if they commented on your video.
  • Once on their profile, tap on the three-dots on the top right corner of the profile.
  • Go over to the “About” section beneath the channel art.
  • Click on the Flag on the right-hand side.
  • Tap on Block user.
  • Choose Submit when asked for final confirmation.

How to Block Someone on YouTube on Android

  • Open the YouTube app.
  • Search for their account or click on their account if you interacted with them before on any other video.
  • When their account pops up, tap on it to view the main page.
  • Tap on the three dots on the upper-right corner and select Block user.
  • Click on Confirm when asked for final confirmation.

How to Block Someone on YouTube on iOS

  • Open the YouTube app.
  • Search for their account or click on their account if you interacted with them on any of your videos.
  • Click on their account to see an overview, tap again to view their main page.
  • Tap on the three dots on the upper-right corner and select Block user.
  • Click on Confirm to finish the process.

How to Block Someone on YouTube on Mac

  • Go youtube.com and log in.
  • Search for their account in the search bar if you already know it or click on their account if they interacted with you on any other video.
  • Head over to the “About” section beneath the channel art.
  • Click on the Flag on the right-hand side.
  • Tap on Block user.
  • Choose Submit when a confirmation pop-up appears.

Why Choose PureVPN When Using YouTube

You find all kinds of different content on YouTube, from videos on Tuvan throat singing to something as serious as surgical videos for future medical professionals. However, your browsing and search patterns on YouTube are not as secure as you may believe. This information is sold to third-party advertisers. As you can probably imagine, this infringes on your right to a certain level of privacy when using YouTube. If you want to maintain that confidentiality, the best solution is to get a reliable YouTube VPN.

PureVPN should be at the top of your list, considering the sheer number of features it puts at your disposal. Its impressive array of 2,000+ servers in more than 140 countries allows you to access all manner of content even if it is not available in your country. PureVPN also utilizes AES 256-bit encryption to allow maximum obfuscation of all incoming and outgoing traffic, guaranteeing complete anonymity. Moreover, PureVPN comes with a certified no-logs policy, independently verified by external IT auditors. And if that wasn’t enough, then PureVPN offers 24/7 customer support on top of a 31-Day money-back guarantee if you’re left unsatisfied. Few other VPN services match, let alone surpass, such a bundle of services.

FAQs(Frequently Asked Questions)

No, unlike Facebook or Instagram, you can’t see which users individually saw your video. You’re only given the total viewer count.

Just one valid Copyright Takedown Request or Community Guidelines Strike is enough to take down a video. Additionally, three such strikes within 90 days can lead to the complete demonetization or even deletion of the channel and all its content.

As per YouTube policy in 2020, if your channel does not have 4000 hours of views or 1000 subscribers in 365 days, all your old watch hours will be removed from monetization from the 1st day of the next year. This rule applies even if you had 3999 hours already.