Now introducing 7-Day premium trial to work, binge, & stay secure online

How to Block Someone on Facebook

Are you a victim of harassment or stalking on Facebook? Or you don't want to see a specific person in your daily newsfeed? The best way to prevent all this is to block them. Here's how to do it:

  1. Click on the drop-down menu on the top right of Facebook.
  2. Choose Settings and Privacy > Settings > Blocking.
  3. On the block user section, enter the name of the person.
  4. Choose Block and you are done.

Why Do People Block Others on Facebook?

Facebook is the world’s most popular social network and boasts great power. As the saying goes, with great power comes great responsibility. However,
Facebook has been slacking in keeping up their duties.
When you’re on Facebook, you have to deal with all sorts of people – Facebook trolls, stalkers, fake profiles, and evil-minded individuals who are eagerly cooking ways to con you.

block facebook

What Does a Facebook Block do?

By blocking someone on Facebook:

  • They can no longer see your posts or visit your Facebook profile.
  • They won’t be able to search for your profile.
  • They won’t be able to message you on Facebook Messenger.
  • They can’t add you as a friend on Facebook.
  • They won’t be able to poke, tag, nor invite you to events on Facebook.
  • A Facebook block automatically unfriends and unfollows them.
blocking on facebook

Block Someone on FB via Computer

To block someone on Facebook through a computer, you’ll need to head over to your web browser.

  1. Login to your Facebook account.
  2. Head over to the person’s profile page and tap the three dots on the bottom right corner of their cover photo.
  3. how to block someone on facebook via desktop step-1
  4. Click Block.
  5. how to block someone on facebook via desktop step-2
  6. Click on Block again for the final time.
  7. how to block someone on facebook via desktop step-3

There’s an additional method to block someone on Facebook:

  • Click the drop-down arrow at the top right of Facebook and choose Settings.
  • Click Blocking in the left side menu.
  • In the Block users section, enter the name of the person you want to block and click Block.

Keep in mind:

When you unblock someone, you won't automatically be friends again. If you block a friend and then unblock them, you'll need to send them a new friend request.
People won't be notified when you block them.

Block Someone on FB via Mobile

To block someone from Facebook by using the Facebook application, here’s the process:

  • Login to your Facebook account.
  • Head over to the person’s profile and tap More.
  • Tap Block and then Block again.
  • Other than that

    You can also go to the Options screen and tap Privacy Shortcuts. Here, you can select, How Do I Stop Someone Bothering Me? Once there, enter the name of the person you want to block and tap Block.

how do I block someone on facebook

How to Block Someone on Facebook
Frequently Asked Questions

By blocking someone on Facebook, the blocked individual(s) won't be able to see what you post on your profile, tag you in posts, comments, or photos, invite you to events or groups, start a conversation with you, or add you as a friend.

You can block anyone who’s on your friend’s list as well as others who aren’t on your friend’s list.

Anyone would want to block you maybe because they think that you shouldn't be part of their Facebook feed anymore. Perhaps the individual isn’t comfortable sharing their private Facebook photos and posts with you.

While Facebook doesn't explicitly tell you if another Facebook user has blocked you, there are specific indications that can help you find out. A blocked Facebook user won’t be able to see your posts, which could indicate them that they’ve been blocked.

  1. Go to facebook.com and log in to your account.
  2. Click on the small arrow in the top right-hand corner.
  3. Choose Settings.
  4. In the left-hand panel, click on Blocking.
  5. Scroll down to Block users. (You will see a list of all the people you have blocked.)
  6. Click on Unblock next to the correct person's name.
  7. Click on Confirm.

Want to reclaim your online privacy? You might want to check below guides: