Facebook has a terrible record when we talk about ensuring the security of user’s online privacy and their most valuable asset – data.
Facebook’s Messenger app follows the same footstep of Facebook. The social media giant is notorious for its weak screening practices and giving a smooth hand to third-parties on its platform.
It’s no secret that people are losing faith in Facebook despite their continuous promises. With never-ending data breaches, the Cambridge Analytica scandal, it’s only natural that you would want to delete Facebook Messenger.
Deactivating Messenger has never been this easy. However, you can only deactivate Messenger if you previously deactivated your Facebook account.
To deactivate Messenger after you've disabled your Facebook account, follow the process:
Your messenger account is now deactivated
The process to deactivate Messenger is the same on both iOS and Android devices.
Your Messenger Account is deactivated.
If you wish to reactivate Messenger, you can do so by logging in with your username and password.
After deactivating your Facebook messenger, no one will be able to send messages and review your profile until you reactivate it.
As said earlier, it is necessary to deactivate your Facebook account first to deactivate messenger.
By reactivating your Facebook Messenger, you will automatically reactivate your Facebook account and there are chances that you will start receiving requests from the annoying users, so you will have to deactivate your Facebook account for the second time.
Sadly, if you completely delete your Facebook account, you will then lose access to messenger as well and never regain the old messages.
When using Messenger or any other chat application, you must use a VPN to secure your online conversations. This is to secure your conversations from hackers and cybercriminals.
Want to reclaim your online privacy? You might want to check below guides: